McGovern Day Awards Nomination Rules

Three awards are given each year at the South Dakota Democratic Party’s annual McGovern Day to recognize exemplary activists in the State Party.

George McGovern Grassroots Award

The nominee must have contributed substantially to the improvement of the South Dakota Democratic Party, must currently be a recognized state-wide leader in Democratic affairs, and must have contributed to registering voters and/or getting out the vote. If named a recipient of the award, this person must be inspired to continue leadership roles in service to South Dakota.

Goldie Wells Award

This is a lifetime achievement award. The nominee must have given many years of service to the South Dakota Democratic Party. The nominee must have also set an excellent example of tireless work and dedication to the ideals of the Democratic Party at many levels and with many projects.

Richard F. Kneip Award

This award recognizes an outstanding up-and-coming member of our Party under the age of 30. The nominee must be active in the Democratic Party, demonstrate exemplary leadership within the Party, and be dedicated to improving both local and state Democratic Party organizations.

Award Selection

County Central Committees are encouraged to nominate a person for each award. The same person cannot be nominated simultaneously for both the McGovern Award and the Goldie Wells Award.

Nominations are due to the South Dakota Democratic Party by April 20, 2017. The SDDP Executive Board will review all nomination forms and select award recipients. Winners will be announced at the McGovern Day Luncheon on April 29, 2017. Winners may not be notified prior to the event, so nominators are responsible for making sure the nominee is present.

Nominations for those who have been previously nominated but have not received awards may be submitted. SDDP staff and SDDP Executive Board members are not eligible. You cannot nominate a relative.

Offer Your Nomination
To submit your nomination, please download the form here » and email to by April 20, 2017.